Springfield Paranormal Research Group
1859 Jail History Timeline
Independence platted and lot number two set aside for the Jail: first sheriff was
Joseph Walker, mountain man and explorer.
Second Jail built; Porter Rockwell held.
New Jail replaces second structure: Marshal's residence is attached to the new facility.
Civil War began; Jail used periodically by Union troops as headquarters during the
Jail under attack during the first Battle of Independence.
Order Number 11; Jail holds as many as 20 prisoners to a cell.
Jailer shot. The Rev. A.H. Dean is jailed. George Caleb Bingham paints his
Bill Ryan—a James gang member—held at Jail for trial.
Frank James surrenders and is incarcerated at 1859 Jail.
Mother Mary Jerome Shubrick works at Jail and heralds prison reform in
Chain gangs leaving Jail to work on county roads are a common sight.
Additional brick facility added to rear of Jail
Jail closed by Judge Latshaw for inadequate facilities.
Jail reopened on technicality.
Jail use terminated and building used for regional relief services (WPA—
Works Progress Administration) during the Depression.
American legion proposes to take over building for headquarters.
Jackson County Historical Society acquires and begins to restore